Library Guides: Physics: Books

E-Books

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Allows full-text searching of Springer-Verlag electronic resources, including several thousand electronic books in a wide variety of subjects.
Allows full-text searching of Springer-Verlag electronic resources, including thousands of electronic books in a wide variety of subjects. Includes most books published from 2005 and titles in book series from 1997. This database includes books, book chapters, and journal articles; search results can be limited by type of resource, author, subject, language, and publication date.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.

Use the "Can't Find It? link in the catalog record to place a request for staff to search for the book

TIP: WorldCat is a useful resource for identifying books that are not in the University of Chicago Library

Proquest Digital Dissertations is a resource listing dissertations from US and Canada. Some dissertations are available for full text download.

Used/antiquarian book sources on the web:

AddAll (this is a good metasearch site that offers price/availability comparisons)
Bookfinder.com
Advanced Book Exchange

If you can't find a book in our collection there are a few other ways you can get a hold of it.

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Use WorldCat to identify books that are not in the University of Chicago Library and use the "Find it!" link on the record to request the book through interlibrary loan.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Request a book through interlibrary loan. This service is free, and many books you can keep for 12 weeks.
Suggest a Purchase
You can request that we purchase a book for the collection.

Jennifer Hart
Librarian for Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
Ryerson Physical Laboratory 156
773-702-7569
Email Jenny