Skip to main content

K-12 Curriculum Materials

A guide to locating curriculum materials, including information about using the K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection.

Library Collections

To locate children's books at the University of Chicago Library search our Library Catalog for specific titles and subjects.   The following subject searches provide good starting points:

  • fiction (located in the Curriculum Materials Collection)
  • juvenile literature (non-fiction located in the Curriculum Materials Collection)

 

Or, if you do not want to limit the location to just the Curriculum Collection try these searches:

 

Databases

The following databases are helpful for identifying children's books for teaching.

Reference Books

Below is a list of selected reference books on children's literature. Most of these books are located on the 4th Floor of Regenstein Library in the reference collection.

  • 60 years of notable children's books / compiled by Sally Anne Thompson ; Association for Library Service to Children.
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: Z1037.T46 2003
  • Children's books in print.
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: Z1037.C64
  • Children's choices : teaching with books children like / edited by Nancy Roser and Margaret Frith.
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: Z1037.C643
  • The essential guide to children's books and their creators / Anita Silvey, editor.
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: Z1232.E85 2002
  • The Fountas and Pinnell leveled book list K-8 / Irene C. Fountas, Gay Su Pinnell.
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Curriculum Materials Collection, Call Number: LB1573.F638 2006
  • Leveled books (K-8) : matching texts to readers for effective teaching / Irene C. Fountas, Gay Su Pinnell.
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Curriculum Materials Collection, Call Number: LB1573.F643 2006
  • Neal-Schuman guide to recommended children's books and media for use with every elementary subject / Kathryn I. Matthew, Joy L. Lowe.
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: Z1037 .M2865 2002
  • A teacher's guide to children's books / Nancy Larrick
    Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: Z1037.L34

 

Children's Magazines

Below are databases for finding articles from magazines for children and teens. 

Both databases provide search limits by Lexile reading levels.

Subject Specialist

Paul Belloni's picture
Paul Belloni
Contact:
October Schedule:
Due to a temporary staffing issue I will be spending most of my time at
SSA Library
969 E 60th Street
phone: 773-702-1199