Skip to main content

K-12 Curriculum Materials

A guide to locating curriculum materials, including information about using the K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection.

University of Chicago Library Collections

American Primers Microfilm Collection

Regenstein, 3rd Floor Microforms, Call Number: microfcPE1119.A1A575 1990
This is a collection consisting of 1401 microfiches that includes primers published between 1711 to 1943. The Library Catalog includes individual records for texts included in the set.  For more information, refer to American primers : guide to the microfiche collection, located in the 4th Floor Reference Collection of Regenstein Library, Call Number: PE1119.A1A575 1990.

Other Important Collections

Center for Research Libraries. Textbook Collection
More than 70,000 textbooks are in CRL's collections but they are not individually cataloged. This site describes the collection which covers U.S. textbooks for K-12 in all subject areas published from the 1780s to 1990s, with the bulk of material dating between 1850 and 1970.

Historical Textbook Collection, Monroe C. Gutman Library, Harvard University
This collection of primary, secondary and college textbooks in all subject areas contains approximately 35,000 volumes. The collection concentrates on materials published between 1800 and 1950, though there are a few pre-1800 items. Most of the textbooks are American imprints, but a representative collection of European imprints is included. The collection is particularly strong in the areas of reading, history and geography, languages, mathematics and science, and covers all subjects taught in schools from agriculture to zoology.

19th Century Schoolbooks
Made available by the University of Pittsburgh Library, this site includes a searchable catalog of the 16,000 volumes comprising the Nietz Old Textbook Collection, a full-text collection of 66 schoolbooks and two surveys of historic schoolbooks by John Nietz, the founder of the Collection. Also available are two documents Using Textbooks as a Research Resource: A Bibliography and Textbooks and Schoolbooks: Resources for Scholars and Researchers.

ACLR Directory of Curriculum Materials Centers
An online directory to curriculum materials centers in libraries around the United States and Canada. Older editions are available in print at the Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: LB3044.72.D57.

Directory of historical textbook and curriculum collections.
Compiled by the Ad Hoc Historical Textbook and Curriculum Collections Directory Committee, Education and Behavioral Sciences Section, Association of College and Research Libraries.  Located in print at the Regenstein Library, 4th Floor Reference Collection, Call Number: LB3047 .D57 2005

Helpful Websites

Subject Specialist

Paul Belloni
Contact:
Spring Quarter Schedule:
Mornings:
Regenstein Library, room 261
phone: 773-702-8699

Afternoons:
SSA Library,
969 E 60th St.
phone: 773-702-1199