Quick Links
Quick links for when you know where to start.
- Art Abstracts
- Art Index Retrospective
- ARTbibliographies Modern
- ARTstor
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Bibliography of the History of Art
- LUNA
- Masters' Papers in Art University of Chicago Masters Papers in Art History and Studio Art, 1938-2009.
- Project Muse
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- WorldCat
Related Guides
Starting Points
For background and quick lookup.
- Oxford Art Online The best modern art encyclopedia, searchable by concepts as well as by artists' names. The bibliographies are a worthwhile starting point for further research.
- Dictionary of Art HistoriansFrom Duke University, a guide to the publications, methodologies and backgrounds of leading art historians.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory The entries on Film Theory, Cultural Studies and Art Theory provide particularly useful overviews. Bibliographies are a good starting point for further research.
- Oxford Reference Online--Art & Architecture Full-text version of Dictionary of Architecture, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art and more.
Campus Resources
- Art History Department
- Center for the Art of East Asia
- Department of Visual Arts
- Film Studies CenterThe campus Film Studies Center in Cobb Hall has an extensive collection of films for research and teaching. Search Their Catalog
- Master of Arts Program in the Humanities
- Renaissance Society
- Smart Museum of Art
Subject Specialist |
Contact Info Bibliographer for Art and Cinema Interim Bibliographer for American & European History Regenstein Library Room 463 773-702-5193 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
About the Collections
See the Collection Development Policy Statement for more information about the art collection.


Loading...
