Library Guides: Papyrology: Home

Welcome

This guide provides links to some of the most important resources available for Papyrology.

Papyrology Quick Links

APIS (Advanced Papyrological Information System) This link opens in a new window
APIS is a collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials (e.g. papyri, ostraca, wood tablets, etc) located in collections around the world. It contains physical descriptions and bibliographic information about the papyri and other written materials, as well as digital images and English translations of many of these texts. When possible, links are also provided to the original language texts. Participating Institutions
UMich Papyrological Site This link opens in a new window
Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets This link opens in a new window
ed. J.F. Oates, R.S. Bagnall, S.J. Clackson, A.A. OBrien, J.D. Sosin, T.G. Wilfong and K.A. Worp. The current print version is the 5th, BASP Suppl. 9 (2001). [Oxbow]. Z6604.C47 2001 RR4Cla
The Web version is kept current by J.F. Oates and J.D. Sosin.
Papyrological Navigator This link opens in a new window
The Papyrological Navigator currently retrieves and displays information from the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS), the Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (DDbDP) and the Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis (HGV).
Papyrus Portal This link opens in a new window
The 'Papyrus Portal' is a project that aims to provide the user with both the opportunity of an efficient and effective search of all digitized and electronically catalogued papyrus collections in Germany and an unified presentation of the search results with the most important information on the particular papyrus. This includes links to the local home databases in order to provide the user with more detailed data on each piece.
Members of the portal.
Trismegistos This link opens in a new window
Trismegistos [TM] is a platform aiming to surmount barriers of language and discipline in the study of late period Egypt and the Nile valley (roughly BC 800 - 800 AD). It brings together a variety of projects dealing with metadata, mainly of published documents. Text Collections
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names - Online (LGPN) This link opens in a new window
Print: Call number: CS2349.L48 1987 RR4Cla
The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names was established in 1972 as a Major Research Project of the British Academy to collect and publish with documentation all known ancient Greek personal names (including non-Greek names recorded in Greek, and Greek names in Latin), drawn from all available sources (literature, inscriptions, graffiti, papyri, coins, vases and other artefacts), within the period from the earliest Greek written records down to, approximately, the sixth century A.D.
Liddell & Scott's Greek-English Lexicon, 1940 This link opens in a new window
Henry George Liddell & Robert Scott, A Greek-English Lexicon. Revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones with the assistance of Roderick McKenzie. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1940.
Cambridge Greek Lexicon This link opens in a new window
Entries are organised according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Other contextual and explanatory information, all expressed in contemporary English, is included, such as the typical circumstances in which a word may be used.

Library News: Humanities & Social Sciences

Subject Specialist

Catherine Mardikes

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Classics, the Ancient Near East, & General Humanities and interim Linguistics
Joseph Regenstein Library,
Room 471
Office: 773-702-2783
Cell: 773-820-2842

Subjects: Ancient Near East, Classics, General Humanities, Humanities, Linguistics, Medieval and Byzantine Studies

Classics & Ancient Near East Quick Links

Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures (OI) Research Archives Catalog This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, book reviews, monographs, and single volumes from sets. The catalog of the Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures Research Archives at the University of Chicago contains entries for ancient Near East materials cataloged since 1987 with complete analytics (essays, articles and book reviews) for materials cataloged since 1990. The catalog also includes earlier materials, but not comprehensively.
University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
For citation linking. Uncheck the Science Index.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.
ZENON DAI: Zentraler Online-Katalog des Deutschen Archologischen Instituts This link opens in a new window
Zentraler Online-Katalog des Deutschen Archologischen Instituts. ZENON indexes books and articles based on the subject catalogues of the offices of the German Archaeological Institute.
Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Art Institute.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Online Egyptological Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the volumes of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) for 1947 to 2001 with abstracts, combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA) for 1822 to 1946, the Aigyptos database with keywords, and many thousands of more recently added records. It provides coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present and is updated nearly every day.
TLG: Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
The full database is currently not available to UChicago users. In the meantime, if the open access TLG texts are not sufficient, please use Perseus under PhiloLogic or, perhaps, the Digital Loeb Classical Library.
An increasingly comprehensive collection of all the surviving texts of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
Library of Latin Texts (BTL & CLCLT) This link opens in a new window
Available within the Cross Database Searchtool
Database contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council. Covers all the works from the classical period up to the 2nd century C.E./A.D; the most important patristic works starting around 200 C.E./A.D. with Tertullian, ending with the death of Venerable Bede in 735; a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - texts taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions; and, Neo-Latin literature (1501-1962) including decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II, and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For citation linking For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
Perseus under PhiloLogic This link opens in a new window
Including Greek texts, Latin texts, commentaries, encyclopedias, dictionaries, grammars and grammar lookup, dictionary lookup, commentary finder, and parser.
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. (Description from Oxford website.)
New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window
The entire text of Metzler's Der neue Pauly, which was published in 18 volumes (13 on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition) and one index volume, is available here together with all volumes of Brill's New Pauly now in print, with regular updates when new translations become available. Advanced search functions, complimented by keyword and subject indices, enable the user to search and combine data efficiently from a vast corpus of over 27,000 entries and sub-entries. The guiding principle in developing the online version of the New Pauly was to supply its users with exactly the same information the book itself would provide, while improving their ability to search and, consequently, use the information.
UChicago E-Journals This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin & Byzantine Studies This link opens in a new window
Cross Database Searchtool This link opens in a new window
Including Library of Latin Texts (A & B), Monument Germaniae Historica, Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature, and Aristoteles Latinus Database.

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.