Related guides
What are reference sources?
"Reference sources are generally the place to begin your research, especially when you're starting out with an unfamiliar field. But they're also where you return when you need to look up formulas, facts, definitions, and other standard details; they tend to pack a lot of information into simple, easy-to-use packages." -- UCLA Library
Reference materials are generally not cited as they have not gone through the peer review process which means they have NOT been vetted by experts in the field before being published.
German Literature
- "German Poetry" (REFERENCE ARTICLE)From The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries, provides a historical overview of German poetry.
Encyclopedia of German Literature (EBOOK) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781579581381Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Companion to German Literature (EBOOK) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0198158963Publication Date: 1997Designed to be a reliable source of information on the whole sweep of literature from German-speaking countries from the eighth century onwards, the Companion now comes right up to the mid-1990s.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowDatabase of critical essays and biographies for German-speaking authors. Also has bibliographies of primary and secondary literature.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- XlibrisGerman reference source that has articles on literary periods and authors of German literature.
- "Deutschsprachige Literatur" (Wikipedia)Overview of the periods of German literature. Citing Wikipedia is generally not acceptable for research papers, however, it is a great starting place to get background information. Look at "Literatur," "Literature," or "References" for citations to scholarly sources. Also, see Academic Use of Wikipedia.
History of German-speaking Europe
- "Austria" (REFERENCE ARTICLE)History of Austria from 1750 to present. From Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World, 2008.
- "Germany" (REFERENCE ARTICLE)History of Germany from 1789 to present. From Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World, 2008.
- German History in Documents and ImagesPrimary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Cassell's Dictionary of Modern German History by Call Number: DD84 .K57 2002Publication Date: 2003Here is modern Germany from A to Z in a comprehensive guide that charts the country's progress from a patchwork of 18th century princedoms to today's unified, commercially vibrant nation. Plus" a full chronology of main events.
Historisches Lexikon der Deutschen Länder : die deutschen Territorien vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart by Call Number: DD14.K6 2007 (Regenstein Reference, 2nd floor)Publication Date: 2007
Books on Course Reserves
Be sure to also check out the materials your instructor has put on course reserves in Regenstein. Click on Library Reserves in Canvas to access the list.
