Good all-around resource for language and literature topics. Search for "animal" in the Thesaurus to get a sense of the different ways the term might be used.
Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics. Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects
A good resource for information on the ecology, environment and such topics as ecofeminism.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Covers the world, excepting the United States and Canada (see above)
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Database of over 6,500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, reports, reviews and electronic documents. Aspects of zoology represented include animal behavior, biochemistry, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Includes both living and extinct (fossil) animal life. An annually-updated thesaurus allows viewing of subject, geographical, palaeontological, and taxonomical hierarchical vocabularies.