Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Data may be generated by browsing maps or building reports.
Portal for searching Chicago-area collections relating to the city and surrounding suburbs. Includes records for archival collections, images, and more.
Includes Sanborn and other historic maps. Search for a current address to see what's available.
Welcome to Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo), a research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information. This subscription includes the following areas: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Produced as aids for insurance companies, these are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.
The Library subscription only includes Illinois
This Web site provides links to a few of the social science maps of Chicago that are held as separate pieces by the University of Chicago Library's Map Collection.
