Starting Points
- Encyclopedia of Chicago (2004) This link opens in a new windowIncludes entries on each of Chicago's community areas.
- Chicago Neighborhood GuideA guide to resources on Chicago neighborhoods from the Newberry Library
- Community Area Name and NumbersMap produced by the City of Chicago showing all community areas with numbers.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Neighborhood Information & Data
Chicago's fact books contain data on 77 community areas in the city. Most of the data is compiled from census tract tabulations and other surveys run by local agencies. It is a local community project that traces the historical growth and social environment of Chicago. The last fact book was published in 2003
Archival Collections
- Special Collections Research CenterThe Special Collections Research Center in Regenstein houses several collections related to Hyde Park, Kenwood, and Woodlawn, including the Hyde Park Historical Society collections.
- Chicago History MuseumThe Chicago History Museum's Research Center houses many collections on Chicago neighborhoods.
- Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and LiteratureThe largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest is housed in the Woodson Regional branch of the Chicago Public Library.
- Northside Neighborhood History Collection - Sulzer Regional LibraryThe Northside Neighborhood History Collection highlights historical and contemporary materials about Northside neighborhoods.
- Neighborhood Collections - Chicago Public Library Special CollectionsArchival collections relating to Chicago neighborhoods at the Special Collections department of the Harold Washington Library.
Ask a Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Contact:
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Help Guides, Humanities, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences