Library Guides: CRWR 14012: Special Topics in Nonfiction: Knowledge Journalism: Academic Journals

Is it an academic journal?

Does it have an extensive bibliography or multiple footnotes?
Is it published or sponsored by a professional scholarly society or association (e.g., the American Psychological Association) or by a university program (e.g., Critical Inquiry) or department (e.g., Social Science History)?
Is it published by an academic press (such as University of Chicago Press or Oxford University Press)?
Are the reviewers or an editorial board listed on the journal's web site (example) or within the journal

BrowZine

BrowZine is a service that lets you scan journal tables of contents without visiting the publisher site. You can quickly view any article of interest directly from the BrowZine App or web site.

Browzine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is tool for browsing, reading and monitoring scholarly journals.

BrowZine for Android
For tablets and phones, requires Android 4.1+
BrowZine for iOS
& more less...
The Library subscribes to BrowZine, a service that allows you to browse, read and follow thousands of the library's scholarly journals available from your computer or from your Android and iOS mobile devices.
BrowZine for Kindle Fire
For Kindle Fire HD

Interdisciplinary - All Topics

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Limit to academic journals to reduce results.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes respected scholarly publications, but may miss issues from the last 1-to-5 years, depending on publishers' restrictions.
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Includes many different publications--not all academic journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Business & Economics

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.

Education

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.

Environment

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Environmental Science
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.

Gender & Society

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.
ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History This link opens in a new window
A current bibliography (1975- ) of articles about women's and gender history. Articles published in English, French, German and Dutch are selected from more than 90 European, American and Indian Journals. From the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Resource covering literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as books, bibliographies and dissertations. This resource is funded by the Illinois State Library.

Government, Law & Public Policy

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals, US and foreign. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text, page images, and PDF versions of law journal articles from the first issue to the present, plus the Federal Register from 1936 to 1980, U.S. Supreme Court opinions from 1754 to the present, and U.S. treaties from 1776 to the present.

Health / Medicine

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).

Psychology

APA Databases (APA PsycNET) - search all APA Databases via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Designed as a gateway to the American Psychological Association's databases and designed for locating scholarly literature from the early 1800s to the present. It covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, technical reports, white papers, standards, policies, book reviews, and more.