Library Guides: Industry Guide: Advertising: Home

Subject Specialists

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld has market research and analysis on over 700 industries. Our subscription covers only the U.S.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research on U.S. consumer markets.
Optional registration allows you to save items to your account; you must use a University of Chicago email address when registering.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.

Advertising Age Data Center
Some free content available, notably the Leading National Advertisers data back to 1997.

We do not have access to any of the subscription content.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

1900-1919 : All-American Ads
Print resource.
20s : All-American Ads
Print resource.
30s : All-American Ads
Print resource.
40s : All-American Ads
Print resource.
50s : All-American Ads
Print resource.
60s : All-American Ads
Print resource.
70s : All-American Ads
Print resource.
80s : All-American Ads
Print resource.
AD*Access
Funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Print resource.
Browsing in Magazines
Look for ads in general periodicals in the Regenstein bookstacks.
The Prelinger Archives
A collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films.
Advertising Archives
Over 50,000 advertisements from the US and Britain.
Free registration required.