Over 30,000 plays written in or translated into English from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
New York, H. W. Wilson Co., 1949/52-
Includes collections of plays by individual authors as well as those included in anthologies. Searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, and genre.
Works acted on or intended for the stage, which are either wholly or predominantly in verse. Masques, entertainments, translations and adaptations are included, along with certain closet dramas. Any accompanying text written by the playwright and forming an integral part of the work, such as epigraphs, dramatis personae and notes, is generally also included, along with commendatory and prefatory poems by both the playwright and others. The bibliographic basis is the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, CUP 1969-72 (NCBEL).
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century - the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments - to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas, including works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge.