Library Guides: ENGL 24408: Before & After Beckett (CompLit 20801 / TAPS 28424): Philosophy & Literary Theory

Articles about Philosophy

Philosopher's Index

Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.

Subject guide: Philosophy

Selected Useful Books

Barthes, Roland. Écrits sur le théâtre. Paris : Éditions du Seuil, [2015].

Martin, Bronwen and Felizitas Ringham. Dictionary of Semiotics. New York : Cassell, 2000.

Barthes, Roland. Œuvres complètes. Paris : Seuil, 1993-95.

----. A Barthes Reader. New York : Hill and Wang, 1982.

Badiou, Alain. Handbook of Inaesthetics. Trans. by Alberto Toscano. Stanford : Stanford University Press, 2005.

Wittgenstein, Ludwig. The Collected Works.... Charlottesville, VA : InteLex Past Masters, 1997.

The Oxford Handbook of Wittgenstein. New York : Oxford University Press, 2011.

Terms & Definitions

Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms

Over 1,200 entries cover traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as updated and extended advice on recommended further reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Dynamic reference work on Philosophy from Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory

Comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Dictionary of Literary Symbols

200 entries explaining and illustrating the literary symbols (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), along with hundreds of cross-references and quotations.
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature

Provides an overview of the main themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures.
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Literary Theory

Works reflecting the diverse material and interests encompassed by the history of literary theory and criticism.

In addition to works written in English, the database includes works which were originally written in other languages but which have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world. All works in the database appear in English.

Among its contents, the database includes:

* formal treatises on criticism and aesthetics
* discourses on the character or practice of specific genres
* theories of imagination, genius and taste
* literary biography, criticism and literary history that expresses important general arguments and precepts
* literary prefaces and dedications
* rhetorical treatises
* poetry which expresses or implies rules of composition or standards of judgement
* theoretical works in disciplines other than English literature which have had a major influence on literary theory

Subject Specialist

André G. Wenzel

Send Email

Contact:

Make an "virtual" appointment :
agwenzel@uchicago.edu

Subjects:Arts, English Literature, French Literature, German Literature, Humanities, Italian Literature, Latin American Studies, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Scandinavian Literature, Spanish, Portuguese & Catalan Literature, Theater