HIST 29635 Imperial Europe

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Includes newspapers in English published in Barbados, Jamaica, India.

Series I: AUSTRALIA
Series II: FRANCE
Series III: GERMANY/AUSTRIA
Series IV: GREAT BRITAIN/IRELAND
Series V: ITALY
Series VI: LEAGUE OF NATIONS/UNITED NATIONS
Series VII: PALESTINE/JUDAICA
Series VIII: PAN-EUROPEAN ISSUES
Series IX: RUSSIA/SOVIET UNION
Series X: SPAIN
Series XI: UNITED STATES
Series XII: ADDENDA (LEAGUE OF NATIONS AND UNITED STATES)

Samuel Northrup Harper (1882-1943), son of the University’s first president, William Rainey Harper, was a Professor of Russian Language and Institutions at the University of Chicago and the first American-born scholar to devote an academic career to the study of Russia. As such, he played an important role in interpreting the events of the Russian Revolution and early Soviet period to those involved in forming American foreign policy towards Russia. In 1904, he made the first of his 18 trips to Russia, in the course of which he amassed an invaluable collection of pamphlets, which are housed in the Library’s Department of Special Collections. The subjects of these pamphlets cover a wide range of topics, including agricultural workers societies, the army, art, banks, health, collectivization, commerce, communist party activities of all kinds, economic planning, education, foreign affairs, industry, labor legislation, police, religion, women and youth. The collection also contains the publications of a variety of organizations such as the Obshchestvo sblizheniia mezhdu Rossiei i Amerikoi, Soiuz ob”edinennago dvorianstva, Soiuz Russkago naroda, Soiuz uvechnykh voinov, Vremennoe pravitel’stvo, Vserossiiskii krest’ianskii soiuz and the Zemskie sobory. Other pamphlets include material on various contemporary personages such as Bukharin, Kaganovich, Kalinin, Kerenskii, Kropotkin, Lenin, Molotov, Nikolai II, Plekhanov, Rasputin, Stalin, Trotskii, Voroshilov and Zhdanov.
Each pamphlet has a letter/number code associated with each piece. The letter code refers to the subject category the piece has been assigned to and the number refers to the item number for each pamphlet in that subject category

State Papers Online offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain.

The British State Papers in this online edition are predominately papers of the Secretaries of State from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne. These papers and those of other ministers were intended to be delivered on death or resignation to the Keeper of State Papers, but they were frequently retained. A mass of papers appears to have been kept by the secretaries of Lord Burghley, now preserved in the library of Hatfield House and in the Lansdowne Collection at the British Library.

A free collection with digitized versions of more than 100 travel accounts in Western and Balkan languages, most of them originally published between 1800 and 1920