ProxyIt!
The ProxyIt! bookmarklet will reload a page to use IT Services proxy server. Install this button in your browser to get access to Library resources from off campus.
- In Chrome, Edge, Firefox or Safari, drag this ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐ link to your bookmarks toolbar.
Once installed, anytime you go to a web page of one of our electronic resources, click the ProxyIt! Button and it will reroute the page through the proxy server so that you can login and access the material. You must have JavaScript enabled for the bookmarklet to work.
ProxyIt! will only work for resources to which the Library has subscribed. You can find whether we have a subscription by consulting the Library Catalog, the Ejournals database, or Articles Plus.
- University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- E-Journals database This link opens in a new window
- Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Plant Genomics Databases
- GrainGene 3.0Genetic, molecular and phenotype information on wheat, barley, rye, oats and sugarcane.
- GrameneOpen-sourced, web-curated atabase of grass genomes.
- MaizeGDBCommunity oriented, federally funded, corn genomic database.
- NCBI Reference Sequence (RefSeq)RefSeq provides a comprehensive, integrated, non-redundant set of sequences, including genomic DNA, transcript (RNA), and protein products for major research organisms. The database currently includes over 785,000 proteins from numerous organisms.
Genome Centers
- Genome CenterUniversity of California at Davis' genome center devoted to studying cotton.
- French Plant Genomics Resource CenterThe French Plant Genomic Resources Center (CNRGV) is responsible for preserving and maintaining plant genomic resources. CNRGV is a repository center for all these plant genomic libraries and also a service provider dedicated to the scientific community.
- Institute for Plant Genomics and BiotechnologyDevelops plant biotechnology, genomics, and related life science technologies to foster technology utilization and crop improvement through multidisciplinary research activities.
- Medicinal Plant Genomic ResourceCovers the genome of 12 medicinal plants, created and maintained by Michigan State University.
- Microbial and Plant Genomics InstituteMicrobial and Plant Genomics Institute is interested in the successful development and application of genomics and the resulting societal and environmental impact. It is located at the University of Minnesota.
- PhytozomePhytozome is a joint project of the Department of Energy's Joint Genome Institute and the Center for Integrative Genomics to facilitate comparative genomic studies amongst green plants.
Contact Information
Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552
Email Deb
Find It!
When searching various Library and online sources, the 
button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders for items that the Library does not own.