1973 to 2009. Most comprehensive of the art indexes, covering the post-Classical period to the present, with an emphasis on Western Europe.
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a database created by the J. Paul Getty Trust's Art History Information Program (AHIP) in conjunction with the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. It contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.
(1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.
Indexing and abstracting database which corresponds to Art Index (Z5931.A75), indexing more than 300 key, international arts publications. (1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.
Coverage from 1929 to 1984. The predecessor of Art Abstracts. Use the "art reproductions" limit to identify works of art that appear as illustrations in indexed articles.
Indexing of 260 international art publications, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Dutch, and Swedish.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
1964-present. Articles on all aspects of American history.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
An index to the design literature, 1900-1986; and Design ProFILES, a Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects.
Art History Research net [AHR net] is an art history research service consisting of five related and linked databases:
ReView - Contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s
Arts + Architecture Profiles - Contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople
Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986
Research Sources: 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s - This is an ongoing project to digitize every book, exhibition catalogue, pamphlet and conference paper, as well as much of the journal literature published in Britain and Ireland during the late nineteenth century and early years of the twentieth century
Research Sources: 2. The Poster - Contains extensive research data on the history of the Poster
This database includes full text for over 4,500 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Full text coverage is especially strong in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, and theology. In addition there are over 8,200 abstracted and indexed journals, over 7,000 of which are peer-reviewed.