Library Guides: Country Information: Country Profiles

Business and Economics Librarians

Business & Economics Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics

Country Profiles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes reports from MarketLine, Business Monitor and CountryWatch. Choose Advanced Search and then Country Reports in the right column to browse
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available. Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
Statesman's Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Subscription source with overviews on population, history, politics, economics, religion and more.
Includes reliable information on every country in the world, covering key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, diplomatic representatives and more.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Country reports from Oxford Economics and selected reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit.
Contains business-focused content from a variety of sources including newspapers, dissertations, ebooks, video, business cases, industry reports and more.
CQ Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
Subscription source. In depth articles on politics and foreign relations, but there is a lag in publication
Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.

BBC Country Profiles
Good brief summaries of current politics with links to major media in the country.
CIA World Factbook
Brief summary information. An excellent source for quick statistics, such as population, military size and expenditures, and political structure.
Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets -- US Dept. of State
Summary information on US relations with countries. Includes links to related government sites.