Abstract
An abbreviated, accurate representation of a work, usually without added interpretation or criticism.
Academic Journal
A periodical that publishes articles which carry footnotes and bibliographies, and whose intended audience is comprised of some kind of research community. Includes both “peer-reviewed” journals, as well as journals that are not “peer-reviewed” but intended for an academic audience.
Annotated Bibiliography
A bibliography that includes a topical summary of each item listed.
Annotation
A note accompanying an entry in a bibliography intended to describe, explain, or evaluate the referenced publication.
Bibliographic Records
Organized citations or references to published works, often using a standard format or structure.
Bibliography
A list of works, documents, and/or bibliographic items, usually with some relationship between them (e.g., by a given author, on a given subject, or published in a given place); usually listed at the end of a publication. An annotated bibliography includes a brief summary of each item listed.
Catalog
A tool that allows you to search bibliographic records, created according to specific and uniform principles of construction, to locate materials available in a library or archive. While originally books or a collection of individual print index cards (card catalog), most library catalogs now are searchable online. The University of Chicago Library Catalog includes records for books (print and ebooks); video (DVDs, streaming, etc.); recordings (CDs, LPs, Streaming, etc.); journals, magazines, and newspapers (print and online); music scores, etc. However, you cannot use UChicago's Library Catalog to search for articles from journals, newspapers, or magazines.
Database
In the context of academic research, a tool in which you can search for primary or secondary source materials for research. See also index.
Gray Literature
A general term referring to publications that are published and distributed outside of the mainstream. This encompasses materials such as technical reports, government publications, and white papers.
Index
A collection of bibliographic records which is used to locate articles in a magazine, journal, or newspaper. Indexes were originally in print, often published quarterly or annually, to help readers locate articles by author or topic in a specific publication or collection of periodicals. Now indexes are searchable databases. Most journal indexes do not include the full article, but will include citations for articles, abstracts, and subject terms--the information needed to locate specific articles.
Journal
A periodical that contains scholarly articles that disseminate current research in a particular subject.
Librarian
A person who is trained to help people identify, locate, and use information. Librarians often hold a MA degree in Library or Information Science, or a PhD in a field related to their research specialty.
Literature Review
A comprehensive examination of all published materials on a topic.
Literature Search
An exhaustive search for all publications on a specific topic.
Peer Review
The process by which one or more experts in a field read a manuscript, an article, or a book, to determine whether it should be published.
Peer Reviewed Journal
A journal that requires authors's research to undergo peer review before publication.
Periodical
A publication that is issued in parts (issues) in regular intervals, usually weekly, monthly, or quarterly.
Primary Source
A fundamental, authoritative document relating to a subject, used in the preparation of a later work; Synonymous with original source and source material.
Prospectus
A formal proposal of a research project developed to convince a reader that the research can be carried out and will yield worthwhile results.
Research
Systematic investigation or inquiry aimed at contributing to knowledge of a theory, topic, etc., by careful consideration, observation, or study of a subject.
Scholarly Communication
The process by which the results of research are shared among researchers, typically including personal communication, presentation at conferences, and publishing in scholarly journals.
Scholarly Journal
A research-based journal, which may or may not be peer reviewed.
Secondary Source
A source created from the examination and interpretation of primary sources.
EBSCO Connect. “What Are Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Publications?” Accessed October 11, 2024. https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/What-are-Scholarly-Peer-Reviewed-publications?language=en_US.
EBSCO Connect. “What Is the Difference between Academic Journals and Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals?” Accessed October 11, 2024. https://connect.ebsco.com/s/ article/What-is-the-difference-between-Academic-Journals-and-Scholarly-Peer-Reviewed-Journals?language=en_ US.
Levine-Clark, Michael, and Toni M. Carter, eds. ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science. Fourth edition. Chicago: ALA editions, an imprint of the American Library Association, 2013.
“Oxford English Dictionary.” Accessed September 20, 2024. https://www.oed.com/?tl=true.