International News

Searchable full-text of one of the Subcontinents most important English-language newspapers. Coverage includes: Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1838-1859), The Bombay Times and Standard (1860-1861), and The Times of India (1861-2010).

Searchable full-text of the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India). A nationalist daily founded in 1924, the Hindustan Times played an essential role in the Indian independence movement.

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asia studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide.

CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. Its shared collections include newspapers (foreign, domestic, and specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, and other traditional materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from CRL. CRL is located on the south side of the U of C campus.

The International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes has been compiled by Irene Joshi formerly of the University of Washington Libaries South Asia Section. This union list contains information on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide.

Full text articles from recent years from over 2500 news sources worldwide. Includes the Chicago Tribune 1985- present, Washington Post 1987 -, the Times (London) 1992- and the New York Times 1980- present

Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.

A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.

Monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs providing full-text international news reports since 1931. A particularly useful source for foreign political and economic reports. 1931-

The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asia studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide.

The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.

A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. Its shared collections include newspapers (foreign, domestic, and specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, and other traditional materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from CRL. CRL is located on the south side of the U of C campus.

Scanned tables of contents of a growing number of Indic-language journals.