PBPL 26302: Practicum: Interview Project on Gun Violence

A Youth Violence Prevention Resource Guide which describes various services, programs and other resources currently available for youth in suburban Cook County, Illinois.
-S. Saad

Research on probing the effects of judicial specialization: (Jim Lewis touched upon this in class--he is also on board of Judicial Performance Commission of Cook County
-S. Rodriguez

This website gives further information about the details of the juvenile justice system by defining the word "juvenile" and giving a step-by-step process of what happens from the time of arrest to sentence hearings.
-S. Saad

A report commissioned by the ICJIA, prepared by their Research & Analysis Unit.

This has a lot of statistics for the introduction section of the proposal.
-M. Gilbert

This report includes data on crime trends and justice patterns in the region over time; explores “specific policy issues and some promising practices intended to address seemingly intractable problems in the criminal justice systems. (Second link includes overview of Metropolis 2020’s supported.
-A. McCormick

This report helped frame the Criminal Justice system and the problems with youth violence. It includes much statistical data to help gain a deeper understanding of the system, and includes things like "Promising Trends," the effects of stricter drug laws, and information on recidivism rates and reintegration into society
-M. Luna

An article describing how budget cuts have limited the amount of programs geared toward youth to keep them off the streets and away from violent activities.
-S. Saad

I was assigned Adjudication and this websites I found to be helpful.
-S. Rodriguez

A brief history of the Court System in Chicago.
-S. Saad

ABSTRACT: THE SYSTEM IS ANALYZED AS A MULTI-STAGE SCREENING PROCESS BY WHICH SOCIETY CHOOSES THOSE TO BE TREATED OR PUNISHED FOR CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR. THE FLOW OF BUSINESS THROUGH THE SYSTEM IS MEASURED AT EACH STAGE, FROM INITIAL CONTACT WITH THE POLICE THROUGH PRETRIAL PROCEDURES, TRIAL, AND DIRECT APPEAL. THE MEASUREMENT IS BUT A MEANS OF DISCOVERING HOW WHAT GOES ON AT ONE STAGE AFFECTS EVENTS AT OTHER STAGES. THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM IS COMPARED TO A LIVING BIOLOGICAL SYSTEM. THE LAW AND PRACTICE REGARDING ASSISTANCE FOR INDIGENT CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS IN COOK COUNTY IS SURVEYED. IN THIS BRANCH OF LAW, STATUTES AND COURT RULES ARE FOUND TO BE NOT ONLY IN FLUX BUT IN CONTRADICTION AND OCCASIONALLY UNCONSTITUTIONAL. THE SYSTEM IS PROVIDING AN INCREASING ARRAY OF SERVICES TO INDIGENT DEFENDANTS, AND THE CONFUSION IS, IN A SENSE, A MEASURE OF SIGNIFICANT PROGRESS
-T. Yemeke

Provides a succinct overview of the program and its impact on the reduction of violence in different Chicago communities.
-R. Malitz

This link not only provides specific and in depth information on Ceasefire (an organization that Jim seemed sure he would invest in again), but can also includes everything and more we would need to rank a non-profit organization on our team's ranked list of investment opportunities for CCT. The report could serve as an example and template for our own analysis of non-profits. It includes Ceasefire's working model, a whole lot of relevant data (with clear charts and maps to express it), and even a series of surveys used to gather information on Ceasefire!
-R. Malitz

Links to material on:
-Criminal Justice System Reform
-Parental Involvement Education and Advocacy
-Financial Education and Access
-Immigration Court Reform

-T. Yemeke

A report by the US Department of Justice, this time on the Safer Foundation, which aims to get ex-convicts back into society, via education, employment search help, etc. The report is top-notch, and a worthwhile example for our own ranked list on top of an excellent resource on the Safer Foundation (an organization that CCT has already invested in).
-R. Malitz

Prepared by Rob Paral and Associates for
The Chicago Community Trust, May 2011