Skip to main content

2020-21 Law Library Services

Finding Ejournals

Searching for a Journal

Use the Ejournals Database to determine if a journal is available online from the Library. You can search for either the exact title of a journal or with keywords.

Select the tab for "Ejournals" in the search box on the Library's website. Enter the name of the journal that you are looking for--not the title of the article you need from the publication. How do I find a journal title in a a citation?.

Finding the Full Text

Once you enter your search, the Ejournals Database will list all of the different Library resources that contain online issues of this publication.

  • Be sure to check what years of a journal are available in each database. 
  • Some databases do not provide PDF full-text. If you require pdfs, select the full-text option from a publisher or journal archive such as JSTOR.
  • Some databases may have an embargo on recent issues.  Any missing years are noted in the results list. 

To find the article, select the link for the database and find the issue you need. Or, click on the Find It! icon for links to full-text options.

Finding Law Journal Articles

Almost all U.S. law journals are available via Westlaw and Lexis. For older articles or articles in PDF format, check HeinOnline. Article indexes can be useful tools for locating articles on specific topics.

Finding Non-Law Articles

The Library provides access to over 220,000 ejournals and newspaper titles. For journal articles from disciplines other than law, start with Articles Plus, which contains articles drawn from hundreds of databases and over 40,000 journals.

For research in a particular subject, you should use Database Finder to locate Library databases specializing in that subject. You can search by database title or browse by subject.

There are also research guides with helpful starting points for research in various areas.

Google Scholar Tutorial

Ask a Law Librarian

D'Angelo Law Librarians's picture
D'Angelo Law Librarians
Contact:
1121 E. 60th Street
Chicago, IL 60637
773-702-9631
Website