Library Guides: Scholarship & Discovery: Medical Education

Home
Medical Education

Med Ed Journals

Academic Medicine
BMC Medical Education
Journal of Graduate Medical Education
Medical Education
Medical Teacher
Latest 12 months not available.
DR MERL
Dependable Reviews of Medical Education Research Literature (DR MERL) is a collection of brief reviews, authored by physicians and medical school educators. Founded at Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School.

E-Books

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is an online resource that contains the latest editions of clinical medicine texts, such as Harrisons Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment Online, and Schwartzs Principles of Surgery Online. It also offers the Lange Basic Science and Lange Current Clinical Science Series for on-going study, review, and reference. In addition, it has the USMLEasy self-assessment tool, a drug index, an image index, the differential diagnosis tool Diagnosaurus, Current Practice Guidelines, diagnostic tests, and patient education information.

Books@Ovid
& more less...
Books@Ovid provides online access to e-books through the Ovid interface. Besides searching within the books, browse by title and by subject is also available.
LWW Health Library
& more less...
LWW Health Library includes:
• Lippincott reference and textbooks arranged by specialty with separate sections for Board Review, Clerkships, and Medical Education
• Video clips of techniques, procedures, and physiological processes
• Multiple-choice Q&A to gauge performance and target areas for remediation
• Regular content updates as new book editions publish or ancillary content is acquired/updated
• Content that is sharable with classmates and colleagues
• Downloadable book chapters for note taking or to print
• Integration with Ovid MEDLINE®

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Allows full-text searching of Springer-Verlag electronic resources, including thousands of electronic books in a wide variety of subjects. Includes most books published from 2005 and titles in book series from 1997. This database includes books, book chapters, and journal articles; search results can be limited by type of resource, author, subject, language, and publication date.

Curricular Databases

MedEdPORTAL
An open educational repository and publication service from the AAMC. Features approximately 2,000 peer-reviewed educational resources from over 10,000 medical and dental education institutions worldwide.
UME/GME Program Resources
AAIM (Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine) offers resources to improve UME and GME programs. Learn more about "best practice" resources and tools, guidelines and positions, curricular resources, and other features for internal medicine faculty and staff.
Portal of Geriatric Online Education (POGOe)
Free, public repository of geriatric educational materials in various formats, including lectures, exercises, virtual patients, case-based discussions, simulations, and more. Funded by Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and managed by Mount Sinai School of Medicine, Department of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine.

Health & Medical

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of published literature designed to support information managers and pharmacovigilance in complying with the regulatory requirements of a licensed drug.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.

Education Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center, funded by the U.S. Department of Education, is the largest education database in the world.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.
Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes accurate, detailed, cover-to-cover indexing of some 500 periodicals, as far back as 1929 through 1983.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Contains over 29,000 titles from more than 7,000 publishers in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and arts & humanities fields.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Content in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Some material dates from 1900.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.

History of Medicine Databases

History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Updated quarterly. 1975-present.

IndexCat
The database of the print Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, printed from 1880-1961 in five series consisting of 61 volumes.
History of Medicine Subject Guide
Additional resources on the history of medicine.

Contact Information

Dr. H. Barrett Fromme
Professor of Pediatrics
Associate Dean for Faculty Development in Medical Education, Pritzker School of Medicine
Section Chief, Pediatric Hospital Medicine
Interim Chief, Academic Pediatrics
Vice Chair of Faculty Development, Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Jeanne Farnan
Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
The University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine

Deb Werner
Interim, Director of the Sciences and Social Sciences
Interim, Director of the John Crerar Library
Director of Library Research in Medical Education
773-702-8552

Send an email to the Scholarship & Discovery office.

Send an email Deb Werner.