How do I find primary sources?

With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record

Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.

Includes 19th Century British Library Newspapers
3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks & ephemera
National & Regional papers from British Isles

Contains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876
From Publisher's website

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

Newspapers, pamphlets and broadsides from 17th and 18th century Britain and British Colonies.