This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Physics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics  

A Guide to Physics Resources available at the University of Chicago Library
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/physics Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Photographic Archives. Special Collections Research Center

 

John Crerar Library News

Follow Crerar News on Twitter

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Getting Started

Barbara Kern, bkern@uchicago.edu, 773-702-8717

The Library Catalog

eJournals

Database Finder

The following are the most essential databases in physics.

arXiv.org
Open access to 618,277 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Astronomy Data System (ADS)
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 3.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. Records can be searched, or full-text documents may be looked at through the browse feature.

Compendex (1884-1969)
Abstracts over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences, and technical reports. Subjects covered include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.


Web of Knowledge  
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™.

 

 

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.
Find out more on their web site.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Barbara Kern
Contact Info
Science Libraries Division
Crerar Library Room 129
773-702-8717
Send Email
 

Chat with a Science Librarian

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip