Skip to main content

Orientation

Learn about the University of Chicago Library collections, services, and spaces

Citation Management

The Library provides instruction on citation management tools are programs that collect records or citations from research databases (indexes, catalogs, etc.) that you can then organize for your research projects. They also help you cite your research by creating bibliographies, citations, and footnotes automatically.

Why should I use a citation management tool?

  • To stay organized
  • To prevent transcription or typographical errors
  • To ease citing and creating bibliographies

To learn more, schedule an appointment with a librarian, attend a library workshop, or visit our citation management help guide.

Borrow, Renew, Request

Borrow

Students of the University of Chicago can borrow unlimited items from the library for quarter-long loans. To borrow most Library items, bring them to the circulation desk in each library and present your UChicago Card or other library card. For detailed due date information, see Due Dates and Loan Periods.

Renew

To renew loaned items, log in to My Account in the Library Catalog and select Checked Out Items.

Students can renew regular loan items online three times. Once you reach the renewal limit, you must bring the items back to a Circulation desk to be renewed. Quarterly loans may be renewed starting the Monday after the quarter ends.

Request

Students can request items owned by other libraries be delivered to the University of Chicago through library partnerships with UBorrow, BorrowDirect, and Interlibrary Loan.

Additionally, the Library provides a Scan & Deliver service, where users can request a portion of a book or journal be scanned by library staff & sent to the patron electronically. 

Printing

View the 130 second video below to learn how to use the University's networked printing system in the Library.

Research Assistance

Chat with us!

Librarians are via chat, email, and at reference desks at campus libraries for personalized, in-depth research assistance for any stage in your project. University librarians can help you:

  • Find items in our print and online collections.
  • Identify the best databases to use for your research.
  • Evaluate quality sources.
  • Understand citation managers and style guides.
  • Discover materials at other libraries and archives.

Research Guides

The library also maintains research and help guides created by subject experts. Use these guides to learn more about library services, finding different types of material in the library, or discipline-specific resources.