Library Guides: Industry Guide: Nonprofits and Charities: Home

Home

Subject Specialists

Business & Economics Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics

Industry Overviews

Conference Board: Business Knowledge Research This link opens in a new window
Register with your uchicago email to get access to all reports.
The Conference Board produces reports on ethics, corporate governance, leadership, executive compensation and other management topics. These are written from a non-partisan perspective. Particularly notable are their annual reports on CEO and Director compensation and corporate charitable giving.
First Research Industry Profiles via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
First Research produces brief industry overviews for 150 industries. These are primarily consumer segments but there are some manufacturing sectors as well. These reports are designed for prospective employees and don't have as much detail as other sources.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Includes reports on marketing to potential donors.
Market research on U.S. consumer markets.
You must create an account to save sections of reports. Only uchicago.edu or chicagobooth.edu will be accepted.

Try searching for alternate terms, such as charities, foundations or charitable organizations.

Data & Statistics

These sources have information on individual charities and non-profit organizations.

GuideStar Pro Library Services This link opens in a new window
GuideStar collects information on non-profit organizations, through tax filings and other sources. Up to five years of financial data can be downloaded to excel and IRS filings are available for up to twenty years.
Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
The Foundation Directory has information on grantmakers and recipients as well as individual grants.

The Rustandy Center for Social Sector Innovation at the Booth School of Business provides access to datasets compiled from IRS Filings, covering 2003 - 2019. Contact Alissa Bolz, Associate Director of Research Partnerships and Strategy at the Rustandy Center to get access
Alissa.Bolz@chicagobooth.edu

More information on what's included is in this PDF

GuideStar Dataset Information

These sources have summary statistics on charities and charitable giving.

Conference Board: Business Knowledge Research This link opens in a new window
The Conference Board publishes an annual report on corporate giving.
The Conference Board produces reports on ethics, corporate governance, leadership, executive compensation and other management topics. These are written from a non-partisan perspective. Particularly notable are their annual reports on CEO and Director compensation and corporate charitable giving.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

Atlas of Giving
Free summary of giving, updated monthly.
Archived reports aren't available.
Chronicle of Philanthropy Facts & Figures
Free access to much of their data and reports.
Giving USA
Annual survey of charitable giving with detailed tables and analysis.
Recent editions can be downloaded in PDF (Scroll down to the title)
CECP Benchmarking Reports
From the Committee Encouraging Corporate Philanthropy.
Free registration required.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Free access to IRS Form 990 from thousands of non-profit organizations. Goes back as far as 2001 for some organizations, but doesn't cover as many as GuideStar does.

Other Sources

BBB Wise Giving Allinace
From the Better Business Bureau. Produces in-depth evaluative reports on national charities.
BoardSource
Focuses on non-profit boards of directors.
Charity Navigator
Independent ratings of charities based on financial health.
Council on Foundations
Trade association of large grantmakers
Forefront
Free resource center for grantseekers, located in downtown Chicago It offers online access to many resources not available through the Library
The Foundation Center
Clearinghouse of information on charities, grantmakers and other sources of funding.
National Council of Nonprofits
Trade association for non-profit organizations.
Foundation Center Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
Abstracts books and articles on a range of topics. Check the Library Catalog to see if an item is available here.

Directories

These are print directories. Links go to library locations.

Corporate Giving Directory
Includes information on where corporations donated
The Directory of Illinois Foundations
The Europa International Foundation Directory
find in the library
National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations