U.S. Legal System

- United States Legal System Chart
- Law Title LocatorLists the location of major law titles in the D'Angelo Law Library.
- How To Read a Legal CitationHow to read citations for cases, statutes and law review articles.
- Guide to TerminologyPlaintiff, appellant, syllabus, docket number and more...a guide to legal and law library terminology.
Core Legal Databases
- LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis Academic contains primary sources for U.S. law and some foreign and international jurisdictions and law reviews. It is available to all members of the University of Chicago community.
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline contains a wide range of primary and secondary law, including PDF files of all U.S. law reviews back to the first date of publication.
- Bloomberg BNA DatabasesBloomberg BNA publishes current awareness newsletters in a wide range of legal subjects, and has case and secondary source libraries in, e.g., intellectual property and employment law.
- FDsysThe U.S. Government Printing Office's site for primary law, such as the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register and many congressional documents.
Helpful Resources
- Black's Law DictionaryD'Angelo Law Reserve, D'Angelo Law Reference - XXKF156.B5322 2009
The standard work for American law abbreviations and terminology. - Duhaime's Law DictionaryA freely-available legal dictionary.
- Martindale-Hubbell Law DirectoryNationwide directory of lawyers and law forms, searchable by name, geographic location, etc. Includes information on areas of practice for attorneys and firms.
- Research GuidesThe D'Angelo Law Library's research guides address various legal topics and jurisdictions. The Cornell Law Library maintains a Legal Research Guide Search Engine which is helpful for locating guides to legal research on the Internet.
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Ask a Law Librarian |
Contact Info 1121 East 60th Street Chicago, Illinois 60637 (773) 702-9631 Ask a Law Librarian Send Email Web site:: D'Angelo Law Library |




Loading...
