Data Sources
The American Community Survey provides data from sampling. Not all data are available in the yearly sample at all geographies; city level data are only in the 3 and 5 year surveys. The ACS is available in both the American Factfinder and Social Explorer
- American FactFinder Online data from the US Census Bureau.
- Social Explorer Commercial product that includes Census data as well as other sources. Exporting data is easier in this tool than from the Census Bureau
- U.S. Foreign Born PopulationCollected data from the Census Bureau. Go to Data Tables to get aggregated national data on the foreign population.
International Data
- OECD Migration DatabaseDetailed statistics for OECD member countries
- ILO LaborstaSome data under migration. Data seem to be inconsistent, however.
Books
The Library Catalog and Lens both search the Library's collections of books. The Catalog is better for combining subject terms while Lens is better for qucik searches.
- Library Catalog Use the advanced search to combine subject terms such as immigration and religion
- Lens
Articles
Immigration is a topic in many different disciplines. These are subject specific databases that have broad coverage of the literature. There will be overlapping coverage but each will have unique articles.
Use the FindIt! button to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociology and related fields
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Political science and public policy
- PAIS International Public policy and political science.
- America: History & Life Covers history of the U.S. and Canada
- Historical Abstracts Covers the rest of the world.
Ask a Librarian |


Loading...
