Skip to main content

How Do I Find Microforms?

Microform Collections and Locations

Following is a list of campus libraries that have microforms, as well as the location of microforms and equipment within that library.

D'Angelo Law

Location

  • Reserves Collection, 2nd floor (paged by staff)

Equipment (Reserves Collection)

  • One UScan digital microform scanner (all microformats supported)

Regenstein

Locations

  • 3rd Floor Microforms Collection, far east side of 3rd Floor Reading Room
  • Science Microforms and ERIC Microfiche, B Level West
  • 5th Floor Middle East Microforms Collection (paged by staff)

Equipment (north end of 3rd Floor Microforms Collection)

  • Five UScan digital microform scanners (all microformats supported)
  • One Dukane microfilm reader
  • One microfiche reader for reading standard microfiche
  • One microfiche reader equipped with a special lens for reading ultrafiche
  • One reader for opaques -- microprint and microcards

Access and Circulation Policies

All microforms collections can be browsed during the hours the library building is open, except for the D'Angelo Law microforms collection and the Regenstein Middle East Microforms Collection. The D'Angelo Law collection must be paged by Library staff during hours when its circulation desk is open. The Regenstein Middle East Microforms Collection must be paged by Library staff in the Middle East Department office (JRL 560) between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

In general, most microforms can be borrowed by bringing them to the circulation desk of the campus library in question during hours when that circulation desk is open. Exceptions to this policy include Chicago newspapers, University of Chicago publications (The Maroon, for example), and other materials that have been designated "Building Use Only" by the Library.

Materials in the Regenstein 5th Floor Middle East Microforms Collection may be used only with the building. Please consult a staff member in the Middle East Department office, JRL 560 for access and further information, or contact Marlis Saleh in advance.