Materials Science Research at UChicago
Chicago Materials Research Center
The Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) at the University of Chicago incubates innovative research to produce the design principles for the next generation of materials. The research is focused on investigating materials formed far from equilibrium, exploring new paradigms for materials fabrication and response, and exploiting feedback between structure and dynamics. Senior investigators represent seven departments and five institutes at the University of Chicago, and two divisions at Argonne National Laboratory.
Guides to Literature of Materials Science
These titles provide guidance in using the literature of materials science.
- Guide to Materials Engineering Data and InformationMetals Park, Ohio: ASM International, 1986
TA503.6.G850 Crerar Library, 1st floor Reference
Contains a directory of materials manufacturers, organizations, engineering data sources, standards issuing agencies, industrial alloy cross-referencing, materials reference books and journals. - "Materials Information Sources." By J.H. Westbrook in the Encyclopedia of Materials Science and EngineeringTA402.E530 v. 8 (pp. 527-542) Crerar Library, 1st floor Reference
Published in 1986, this article provides a thorough guide to materials information sources and also provides an analysis of the information needs of various users and producers. - Guide to Metallurgical Information, 2nd editionNew York: Special Libraries Association Metals/Materials Division, 1965
Z6678.S741 Crerar Library, 1st floor Reference
This source covers all types of published literature, agencies, and other types of metallurgical and materials information. Most entries are annotated and it is international in coverage. Contains about 1100 items with author, organization, general title, serial title and subject indexes.
John Crerar Library News
Materials Science Resources in the Library
In addition to a rich collection of information resources, the Library offers a suite of services to support teaching and research needs, including interlibrary loan, off-campus access options, training and support for the use of bibliographic management tools (e.g., EndNote, RefWorks), customized library instruction, and more.
If you have questions about these, or any other library services or resources, please contact me!
Off-campus Access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.
Find out more on their web site.
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Blog:: Crerar Library News Chat:: When Andrea is not available for chat, try Ask a Librarian |

Loading...



Loading...
