What is Lens?
Lens is the Library's alternative catalog. Lens provides keyword searching and relevancy ranking, as well as enhanced content not available the Library Catalog, such as:
- Table of contents
- Cover Art
- Summaries and reviews
- Links to Google Book Search, if the full or partial ebook is available.
- Links to Hathi Trust ebooks, when available.
Search Lens to find items in the Library's collections, ebooks, images, and more.
What does Lens search?
- Library Catalog Records
Search for Including books, journals, music scores, recordings, and more.
- Archives and Manuscripts Finding Aids
Search the contents of the Library's archives and manuscript collections in the Special Collections Research Center.
Includes images from American Environmental Photographs Collection, the Archival Photographic Files, and The First American West.
- The Library Website
You can also search the Library website through Lens.
- Hathi Trust Books
Lens includes items available from the Hathi Trust that are not available in print at the Library.
Lens does not:
- Search for Articles
Use a Library database to search for articles. If you have a citation to a specific article, search for the name of the journal.
- Search by Non-Roman Characters
For now, use the Library Catalog.
- Search by Call Number
Use the Library Catalog to search by call number.
- Conduct Alphabetical/Browse Searches
You cannot browse by title, author, subject heading, etc. Use the Library Catalog.
- Search for Phrases
Using quotation marks in Lens does NOT search for phrases. It stops stemming (looking for variants of words).