Encyclopedia covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s, with articles on the art and culture of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas and the Pacific. Database includes links to images and further information in museum and other art-related web sites.
The best modern art encyclopedia, searchable by concepts as well as by artists' names. The bibliographies are a worthwhile starting point for further research
Excellent, cross-referenced essays on theorists such as Wittgenstein and Benjamin, national and ethnic critical traditions, periods, "schools," and literary forms.
Comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Full-text version of Dictionary of Architecture, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art and more. Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
Find materials, verify citations, and place interlibrary loan requests using the FindIt button. WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.