Skip to main content

Japanese Studies

Resources useful for Japanese-studies researchers

Quick Links (General)

Introduction

Bookcover display at 520B

Welcome to the Japanese Studies Research Guide!

This guide is designed to provide researchers with information on resources pertinent to Japanese studies that are available at the University of Chicago and beyond. The information on this page includes:

  • Print and visual materials sorted according to type (books, journals, articles, newspapers, films, etc.)
  • Links to major databases, institutions, digital collections
  • Search tips

This guide focuses on resources in Japanese, and thus is designed primarily for researchers with a reading knowledge of Japanese. However, should you have questions regarding resources pertinent to Japan in other languages, please feel free to contact me. 

Quick Links (Asia and Japan)

Subject Specialist

Ayako Yoshimura
Contact:
Japanese Studies Librarian
Joseph Regenstein Library
Room 520B
773-702-8434

Location of the East Asian Collection

The East Asian Collection is located on the 5th floor of the Joseph Regenstein Library. Click here for the floorplan. 

Find It!

When searching databases, the Find It button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

Off-Campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use the links from the main Library website or from Subject Guides like this one. You will then be prompted to enter your CNetID and password to identify yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.

Find out more on their website