Getting Started
If you are looking for articles on a specific topic, or by a specific author, you will have to use an index or article database.
Some article databases will include the full-text of the article. Other databases may only include a record with an article citation. To locate the full-text, click on the Find It! icon in the record for the article. If the article is online, Find It! will link you to options for the full-text. Otherwise, Find It! will provide an option to look for the journal in print at the Library using the Library Catalog.
Below are some good places to begin your research.
- Articles Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, books, reviews, and more drawn from hundreds of databases and over 40,000 journals.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLiterature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowBiomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowCitations of articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary art. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
- Key Article Databases by SubjectA list of good article database to use for your research, arranged by subject area.
- Ask a LibrarianThe Library's reference librarians can recommend the best databases to use for your research topic.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes citations for academic journals in all subjects.
To set up Google Scholar to work with the Library's online journal collection, you must go to Scholar Settings, and under Library Links, search and select "University of Chicago Libraries". Then click on "Find it at UChicago" to access the full-text of the article.
Ask a Librarian
