Skip to main content

HIST 845: American Capitalism: Political Economy, Culture, and Law

Hours and Location

Monday through Friday: 9:00 am to 4:45pm. 

When classes at the University of Chicago are in session, we are open until 5:45pm on Tuesday and Wednesday. We are not open Saturday or Sunday.

The Special Collections Research Center is located on the first floor of Regenstein Library: 1100 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637

How To Cite Primary Sources

It is ethically imperative to always cite sources correctly and thoroughly in order to credit the original records creators and to lead other scholars to the materials. Proper citation should lead your readers directly and unambiguously to the sources you have consulted.

The crucial points to cover in your citation should include the following:

  1. Author or creator's name
  2. Title of the work
  3. Date
  4. Publication information
  5. Collection name
  6. Box and folder
  7. Repository (archive that houses the material)

Remember that your citation should include as much identifying information as possible. Start with the most specific detail--the item title or description--and end with the broadest piece of information--the name of the repository.

Here's an example of a citation of a speech from one our collections:

Abbott, Edith, "Excerpts of Address at National Women's Trade Union League Nebraska," 1934.  Abbott, Edith and Grace. Papers, [Box 24, Folder 13], Special Collections Research Center, University of Chicago Library. 

This citation leads a reader directly back to the original source. 

How to Locate Archives and Manuscript Collections

The Special Collections Research Center is home to over 300,000 rare books and more than 30,000 linear feet of  archival collections. There are a number of ways to locate and access materials; you can search the website by keyword or browse the collections by name or subject. You can search the catalog for rare books or you can email or stop by and a reference librarian will be glad to assist you. Below are a number of short tutorials that walk through the steps of using the Special Collections website

How to Search for a Specific Topic in the Archival Collections

How to Request Archival Materials from SCRC

Watch this tutorial to learn how to register as a user and request materials housed in Special Collections:

Locate and Request Rare Books using the Library Catalog

Subject Guide

Julia Gardner
Contact:
JRL-130, Special Collections Research Center

773-834-0627