Library Guides: Industry Guide: Energy: Home

Industry Overviews

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Reports on Energy and Materials
BCC publishes market research reports on materials, technology, life sciences and energy.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Reports in many different areas. Search for a specific term like oil or coal for best results.
IBISWorld has market research and analysis on over 700 industries. Our subscription covers only the U.S.
First Research Industry Profiles via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
First Research produces brief industry overviews for 150 industries. These are primarily consumer segments but there are some manufacturing sectors as well. These reports are designed for prospective employees and don't have as much detail as other sources.

International Petroleum Encyclopedia
Print source which includes statistics and an international overview of the market.
U.S. Energy Information Administration

Annual Energy Outlook
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Annual Energy Review
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Baker Hughes Rig Counts
Data on active oil wells. Includes historical data.
Coal Information
& more less...
From the International Energy Agency within the framework of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Energy Balances of OECD Countries
LSU Center for Energy Studies Data
Focuses on Louisiana but has a great deal of national data as well.
Monthly Energy Review
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Real Petroleum Prices
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Includes a link to a spreadsheet that contains gasoline prices back to 1919.
Rigzone
Data on off-shore oil rigs.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.