Library Guides: Nursing: Evidence Based Practice

Evidence-Based Journals

Applied Nursing Research
Evidence-Based Nursing
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing
ACP Journal Club
& more less...
Reviewers for American College of Physicians screen over 130 clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. Abstracts of the reviewed articles are provided with a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice.
International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare

ClinicalTrials.gov
& more less...
Contents include clinical trials, experimental treatments, experimental and new diagnostic procedures, patient enrollment, patient accrual, patient recruitment, and all study phases. Information is provided about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and contact information.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
& more less...
A database of controlled trials identified by Cochrane Review Groups and others, as part of an international effort to search the world's medical literature. Includes reports published in conference proceedings and in other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases.
Search the Studies (NIH Clinical Center)
& more less...
Search the collection of research studies being conducted at the NIH Clinical Center.
CenterWatch
& more less...
Database global listings of industry- and government-sponsored clinical trials. More than 875 clinical research centers and 600 companies offering a variety of services to the clinical trials community are profiled. Locate research centers by medical expertise or geographic region and industry providers by type of services provided.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of the regularly-updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews - regularly-updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and Protocols - protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

TRIP Database (Turning Research Into Practice)
& more less...
Content is identified using a variety of methods, all follow the principles of evidence based medicine. TRIP works with the Department of Family Medicine at Laval University, Quebec, Canada to help identify and appraise sites using a directory that features over 100 critically appraised websites that mainly offer critically appraised topics (CATs) or original articles, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines (CPGs).

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Provides references to journal articles, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and more. Some full-text material is included.

they/she

Send Email

Contact:

Librarian for Health, Psychology, and Social Work

Subjects: Human Development, Nursing, Psychology, Social Services

Agency for Heathcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
& more less...
A good source for clinical practice guidelines from AHRQ and links to other guideline sites such as the U.S. Public Health Service.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text This link opens in a new window
The Health Services Technology/Assessment Texts (HSTAT) is a free, electronic resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups. HSTAT is also available through the NCBI Bookshelf.