Weather and Climatology

A web site with links to information on hurricanes, tornadoes, heavy precipitation and other extreme events.

(QC941.U5 Crerar Library)

Listing, by state, of hurricanes, tornadoes, thunderstorms, hail, floods, drought conditions, lightning, high winds, snow, temperature extremes and other weather phenomena. The reports are provided by the National Weather Service and contain statistics on personal injuries and damage estimates.

List of the Regional Specialized Meteorology Centers (RSMC) and Tropical Cyclone Warning Centers (TCWC) participating in the WMO Tropical Cyclone Programme.

Provides comma separated value (.csv) files for tornado, hail, and damaging wind data as compiled in Storm Data. Tornado reports exist back to 1950 while hail and damaging wind reports date from 1955.

National Hurricane Center provides an extensive archive of information on past tropical storms.

Images from space of several hurricanes.

Contains state occurrence maps, historical data, special reports and more.

Describes the scale used to measure the severity of tornadoes.

Provides comma separated value (.csv) files for tornado, hail, and damaging wind data as compiled in Storm Data. Tornado reports exist back to 1950 while hail and damaging wind reports date from 1955.

University of Chicago press release issued at Mr. Fujita's death.

Article on Ted Fujita and his work that appeared in Weatherwise, May 1999.

A site for enthusiasts including tornado myths, tornado oddities, personal tornado experiences, tornado chasing, tornado safety, and tornadoes in the past as well as more recent tornadoes.

Grouped by topic, photographs of hail, tornadoes and lightning are available.

Provides hail data for 1061 weather stations in 27 states. Produced by Changnon Climatologist for NOAA.

NSIDC archives digital and analog snow and ice data including snow cover, avalanches, glaciers and ice sheets, floating ice, ground ice and permafrost, atmospheric ice, paleoglaciology and ice cores. User registration is required for free data access.

Provides comma separated value (.csv) files for tornado, hail, and damaging wind data as compiled in Storm Data. Tornado reports exist back to 1950 while hail and damaging wind reports date from 1955.