Library Guides: Geography: Information Sources in Urban Studies

Information Sources

Many important information sources in urban studies are available in paper only. They are listed below with their University of Chicago call numbers and locations.

General Studies

Handbook of Urban Studies / edited by Ronan Paddison
[Regenstein and SSA HT109.H36 2001].
Information Sources in Urban and Regional Planning : A Directory and Guide to Reference Materials / Edward E. Duensing
New Brunswick: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994
[Regenstein Z5942.D870 1994].

Indexing and Abstracting Tools

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Major indexing and abstracting tool with excellent coverage of geography. Indexes periodical literature in geography and related fields back to ca. 1980. For earlier material, you must consult the complicated Geographical abstracts [Z6003.G3 ... Regenstein Second/Third-Floor Reading Room] (see note).
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes material on city planning and the urban built environment as well as on architecture. Goes back to 1977. Earlier material is indexed in paper volumes [Z5945.A93 ... Regenstein stacks].
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land. Avery Index also contains references to more than 13,000 obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects. Among the obituaries indexed are those from four crucial American periodicals since their inception: American Architect (1876), Architectural Forum (1892), Architectural Record (1891), and Progressive Architecture (1920). The Journal of the Royal Institute of British Architects is indexed as far back as 1865, providing an extensive record of English architects.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes material on public policy questions, including those related to cities. Has at most very minimal abstracts. Coverage is 1972 to the present.
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The major indexing and abstracting service in sociology. Indexes periodical and some other literature back to ca. 1963. For earlier material consult the paper Sociological Abstracts[HM1.S57 Regenstein Second/Third-Floor Reading Room].
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes historical material on the United States and Canada back to ca. 1954.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes historical material for the entire world other than the United States and Canada back to 1954.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

(Description taken from EBSCO website.)
FRANCIS: International Humanities and Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Major French indexing and abstracting service for the humanities and social sciences; indexes material back to 1984. Probably covers European literature more thoroughly than the English-language indexing and abstracting services. For material from before 1984, you must consult the appropriate Bulletin signalétique.
Contains information on a wide range of multilingual, multicultural sources, including books and over 4,000 journals. The range of subjects covered include the humanities, social sciences, and economics. It is strong in religion, the history of art and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.

Retrospective Bibliographies

CPL Bibliography
Chicago: CPL Bibliographies, 1956-1996. More than 1500 bibliographies of urban-studies materials. Good source of information for hard-to-find-out-about older planning reports. [Z5942.C73 Regenstein stacks].

Factual Sources

H-Urban
The Website of the major listserv in urban studies. Includes good list of urban-related Websites.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
U.S. government data for the United States.
UN Habitat Urban Data
United Nations statistics. Comparable data for thousands of urban areas.
City of Chicago Data Portal
Trove of all kinds of data about the City of Chicago

Subject Guide

Science Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

Phone: 773-702-7715

Subjects: Physical Sciences

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.