What's New
From the Government Printing Office (GPO)
Loading...
Today in History
- Today in Historyfrom the Library of Congress, American Memory
Population Projections
Daily US and World Population Estimates from the US Census Bureau
Loading...
Government Information Online
Government Information Online (GIO): Ask a Librarian
- Government Information Online (GIO) GIO is a free online information service supported by nearly twenty public, state and academic libraries throughout the United States. All participants are designated Federal depository libraries in the U.S. Government Printing Office's Federal Depository Library Program.
General Interest Starting Points
- Core Documents of Our Democracy
- U.S. Government Information--by Agency and DepartmentMaintained by Northwestern University Library
- U.S. Government Information By SubjectMaintained by Northwestern University Library
- FDsys In 1993, Congress passed the U.S. Government Printing Office Electronic Information Access Enhancement Act (Public Law 103-40), which expanded GPO's mission to provide electronic access to Federal electronic information. For more than 15 years, GPO Access has been America's source for Government information online, but now GPO is unveiling the next generation of Government information online with GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys).
- GPO Monthly Catalog Similar to FDsys but includes records for print resources and more comprehensive farther back in time.
Coverage: 1976 - present. - Public Documents Masterfile Coverage: 19th century - present.
- 19th Century Masterfile Covers many government indexes such as:
Subject matter index of Patents issued by the U.S.
Descriptive Catalog of the Gov. Pubs. of the U.S.
Index to the Journals of the Continental Congress
Congressional Record File
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents
Index to Hickcox Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications
American State Papers
Cumulative Title Index to U.S. Government Publications
etc. - Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
- Digital National Security Archive
- Military & Government Collection Not produced by the government but from EBSCO
- Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)
- American Memory From the Library of Congress
- Guide to U.S. Government PublicationsA history of government agencies and their publications.
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite
- CyberCemetery The CyberCemetery is an archive of government web sites that have ceased operation (usually web sites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report).
Federal Depository Library
![]()
The University of Chicago Library has participated in the depository program since 1897 but has retrospective government documents dating back to colonial times.
Access information for members of the public.
Ask a Librarian |
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Chat: |




Loading...
