Archives, Libraries & Museums at the University and in Chicago
- Chicago JazzThe Chicago Jazz Archive is part of the University of Chicago Library's Special Collections Research Center.
- African American Studies: Selected Modern Manuscript and Archival CollectionsA list of collections held by the University of Chicago Library's Special Collections Research Center.
- Black StudiesA guide to material in the Center for Research Libraries.
- Mapping The Stacks: A Guide to Black Chicago's Hidden Archives
- The DuSable Museum of African American History
- Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and LiteratureThe largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest is housed in the Woodson Regional branch of the Chicago Public Library.
- African American StudiesThe Newberry Library has a strong collection of African American materials.
- Chicago History Museum
Other Institutions
- John Hope Franklin Research Center for African and African American History and CultureAfrican American Manuscript Materials are housed in the Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
- Center for the Study of Southern Culture
- Gwendolyn Brooks Center for Black Literature and Creative WritingIncludes information on the annual Gwendolyn Brooks Conference for Black Literature and Creative Writing.
- Library of CongressNote African American History in the American Memory collections and the African American MOSAIC exhibit.
- National ArchivesNote guides to Black History resources, researching African American Heritage, etc.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black CultureA research unit of The New York Public Library, generally recognized as one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world. Digital Schomburg provides access to their online collections.
Subject Specialist |
Contact Info Bibliographer for Art and Cinema Bibliographer for History Regenstein Library Room 463 773-702-5193 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Chat: |



Loading...
