Library Guides: Astronomy & Astrophysics: Articles & Journals

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. Use the ProxyIt bookmarklet or Libkey Nomad in these situations. There's more information on these in our guide to off-campus access.

How do I access Library resources from off-campus?
by Ask a Librarian Updated Sep 13, 2023 1164 views this year

EndNote and Zotero

Databases

ArXiv.org e-Print Archive This link opens in a new window
"Open access to 615,861 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics."
Open access to 618,277 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 3.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. Records can be searched, or full-text documents may be looked at through the browse feature.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.

INSPIRES HEP
"Search more than 400000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports......"

Journals

Find an e-journal

The Library has an extensive collection of journals, both electronic and in print. If you cannot find a specific journal title, or you need assistance with your research, please contact me.

Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations

Document Delivery Service

If the Library does not own a journal / article that you are interested in please submit an interlibary loan. If we do own the journal, but it is not available electronically, you can use the Library's Scan & Deliver Service.

Interlibrary loan - 8 days, loan period varies, research libraries around the world

Scan & Deliver - 4 business days, pdf scan, from material available in the Library, but not electronically

Interlibrary Loan FAQ

Scan & Deliver FAQ

Searching for Citation Information

The Library provides resources for locating a variety of measures of research impact, including counts of citations to a particular paper, measures of citations to specific authors, and impact factors for journal titles. Tools are often integrated into articles databases.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides citation data on scholarly journals for purposes of evaluation and comparison.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.

Calculating an author's h-index

GRIN (Great Images In NASA)

Great Images in NASA

Ask A Science Librarian

Science Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

Phone: 773-702-7715

Subjects: Physical Sciences