Related guides
This guide provides access to a selection of information resources that are either freely available via the web, or which are accessible only through the University of Chicago. Additional information resources can be found through the Library Catalog, via LENS, and also through electronic resources links provided at The John Crerar Library website.
Related Research Guides:
Information included in this guide also relates to content provided in the following Science Research Guides:
- Physical/Chemical Data
- Standards
- Science Reference Sources
Journals
For a comprehensive and searchable list of current journals, newsletters, and websites related to weights and measures, visit the website of the International Bureau of Weights and Measures.
- Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
A joint publication of the American Institute of Physics and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). - Metrologia (Bureau International des Poids de Measures, BIPM)
International scientific journal of the International Bureau of Weights and Measures. - Weights & Measures Quarterly (National Institute of Standards & Technology)Newsletter of the Weights & Measures Division of the U.S. NIST.
Quick reference: Mathematical Constants
- Wolfram Mathworld: 'Constants'
- Free online mathematics encyclopedia providing detailed definitions, theory, origins and applications for a wide range of mathematical constants.
- Mathematical constants
- Steven R. Finch. Cambridge University Press, 2003. Print format: Eckhart Library, at QA41.F54 2003.
Quick reference: Physical Constants
- NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty
An extensive, online searchable database of physical, chemical and universal constants, including bibliographic references, descriptions, explanations, and links to related data and research resources. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (limited to University of Chicago users)
Online access to a comprehensive list of fundamental physical constants in Section 1: 'Basic Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors.' Also available in print format, in Crerar bookstacks, at QD65.C481 (most recent edition held in the Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection). - Smithsonian Physical Tables (limited to University of Chicago users)
Classic physics reference work provided via Knovel electronic texts. Also available in print format, in Crerar bookstacks, at QC61.S617 (most recent edition held in the Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection). - Encyclopaedia of scientific units, weights, and measures: their SI equivalences and origins
François Cardarelli. Springer, 2003. Print format: Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection, at QC94.C295 2003. - AIP Physics Desk Reference
Third Edition. Springer-Verlag/AIP Press, 2003. Print format: Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection, at QC61.A37 2003. - The Physics Quick Reference Guide
E. Richard Cohen. American Institute of Physics, 1996. Print format: Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection, at QC61.C650 1996.
Quick Reference: Weights and Measures
- Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures: Their SI Equivalences and Origins(limited to University of Chicago users).Also available in print format in Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection, at QC94.C295 2003.
- General Tables of Units of Measurement (National Institute of Standards & Technology)More than 20 pages of standard units and conversion tables in downloadable pdf format for current and obsolete national and international weights and measures.
- A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units (limited to University of Chicago users).Donald Fenna. Oxford University Press, 2002. Also available in print format in Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection, at QC82 .F428 2002.
- Metric Units & Conversion Charts: A Metrication Handbook for Engineers, Technologists, and ScientistsTheodore Wildi. IEEE, 1995. Print format: Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection, at QC94.W530 1995.
- Elsevier's encyclopedic dictionary of measuresDonald Fenna. Elsevier, 1998. Print format: Crerar 1st Floor Reference Collection, at QC82.F43 1998.
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Blog:: Crerar Library News Chat: When Andrea is not available for chat, try Ask a Librarian |




Loading...
