Art and ArchitectureChinese Language and LiteratureEconomics and StatisticsHistoryLawLibrariesMuseumsNews and Current EventsPolitics and GovernmentReligion
This is the "Home" page of the "Chinese Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chinese Studies  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/chinese Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Database Trials

  • Chinese Online Art Gallery by Apabi  
      
    Provides images on a wide array of Chinese art objects throughout Chinese history.
  • Chinese Current Newspapers by Apabi  
      
    Provides access to 26 major current newspapers of mainland China.
  • China Census Data 中国人口普查数据库  
      
    Provides online version of 2010 China census data that have been published. The database mainly includes those at national and provincial level. As census data at lower level such as city, county, district, township etc. are published, they will be added to the database—according to the database producer. Full-text is searchable within a given title. Downloadable data are also available in spreadsheet format (Excel).
 

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.
Find out more on their web site.

 

Welcome to the Chinese Studies Guide

Welcome to the Research Guide for Chinese Studies!

This guide provides an introduction to Chinese material at the University of Chicago as well as access to resources in order to support research and teach in Chinese Studies.The page will assist you to:

  • Find relevant materials (books, journal articles, newspapers, statistics, audio and visual materials, etc) for your research topic
  • Discover significant collections of materials for specific Chinese studies in fields such as literature, history, film, etc.
  • Learn tips for searching book contents, finding full text online, etc.

One can learn more about a resource by clicking on the blue information button .


 

Library News: Humanities & Social Sciences

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Jiaxun Wu
Contact Info
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 520C
773-702-5049
Send Email
 

Purchase Request

The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs.

Use this form to submit a request.
It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.

 

Find It!

When searching databases, the Find It button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

 

ProxyIt!

The ProxyIt! bookmarklet will reload a page to use IT Services proxy server. Install this button in your browser to get access to Library resources from off campus.

  • In Firefox or Safari, drag this ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐ link to your bookmarks toolbar.
  • In Internet Explorer, right-click on this ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐ link and select "Add to Favorites..." (you may receive a Security Alert warning that the favorite may not be safe, click on "Yes" to continue). Choose where in your Favorites  you wish to save the bookmarklet (usually the Links toolbar) and then click on "OK".

For more information, see the Proxy page.

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip