HIST 28906: Nineteenth-Century American Mass Entertainment

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, 1849-2011.

Leading American source for news and opinion during the middle years of the 19th century. From Finding Aids, select a Topic to see lists of subjects.

(1865-1922)

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877 through 1993.

Newspaper Archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.

Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record

Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record

Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide. Coverage is 1910-2010