Library Guides: Neuroscience Major: Databases

Databases containing neuroscience literature

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Database of over 6,500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, reports, reviews and electronic documents. Aspects of zoology represented include animal behavior, biochemistry, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Includes both living and extinct (fossil) animal life. An annually-updated thesaurus allows viewing of subject, geographical, palaeontological, and taxonomical hierarchical vocabularies.

PubMed Overview

PubMed is the free database for searching biomedical literature. It was created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine and contains both primary and secondary literature. It is free to access at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/ anytime, anywhere.

To have access to full text, make sure you are accessing PubMed via the University of Chicago's proxy account. It is recommended to access PubMed from the science quick links on the library homepage. When you select an individual article from PubMed, you should now see a Find It button in the top right hand corner under full text links. Clicking on this button will direct you to the full text of the article if the University of Chicago has a license with the publisher OR it will direct you to the interlibrary loan service to request the full text article.