Journals
Writing a literature review? Interested in learning about the latest developments in GIS research and tools? Want to know the best journals to publish spatial research?
Try these journals:
Stay up to date with the latest developments in GIS by adding these journals to your Browzine bookshelf. Learn more about Browzine at the University of Chicago Library:
Books
A to Z GIS by
An invaluable resource for anyone who uses or encounters GIS terminology in the classroom, on the job, or in the field, this dictionary contains more than 1,600 terms covering the entire lexicon of geographic information systems. Terms have been selected from GIS operations such as analysis, data management, and geocomputation; from rapidly evolving uses of GIS for modeling, GIScience, and Web-based GIS; and the GIS foundation fields of cartography, spatial statistics, computer science, surveying, geodesy, and remote sensing. Hundreds of subject-matter experts and GIS educators have reviewed the definitions, ensuring the authoritative coverage that is a necessity for managers, programmers, users, and students discovering the interdisciplinary nature of GIS.
The GIS 20 by
The GIS 20 is a no-nonsense workbook that demonstrates how to perform twenty essential GIS skills as indicated by 500 GIS practitioners. Written for professionals with no time for classroom training, this book can be treated as a weekly self-assignment or an as-needed reference. Each chapter offers a handy checklist of basic functions and steps covered in the text, as well as executive level summaries of how the functions are commonly applied for different types of analysis. If you are a GIS beginner, The GIS 20: Essential Skills is your best friend.
Learning QGIS - Third Edition by
The latest guide to using QGIS 2.14 to create great maps and perform geoprocessing tasks with easeAbout This Book- Learn how to work with various data and create beautiful maps using this easy-to-follow guide.- Give a touch of professionalism to your maps both for functionality and look and feel with the help of this practical guide.- A progressive hands-on guide that builds on a geo-spatial data and adds more reactive maps by using geometry tools.Who This Book Is ForThis book is great for users, developers, and consultants who know the basic functions and processes of GIS and want to learn to use QGIS to analyze geospatial data and create rich mapping applications. If you want to take advantage of the wide range of functionalities that QGIS offers, then this is the book for you.What You Will Learn- Install QGIS and get familiar with the user interface- Load vector and raster data from files, databases, and web services- Create, visualize, and edit spatial data- Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them- Create advanced cartographic outputs- Design great print maps- Expand QGIS using PythonIn DetailQGIS is a user-friendly open source geographic information system (GIS) that runs on Linux, Unix, Mac OS X, and Windows. The popularity of open source geographic information systems and QGIS in particular has been growing rapidly over the last few years.Learning QGIS Third Edition is a practical, hands-on guide updated for QGIS 2.14 that provides you with clear, step-by-step exercises to help you apply your GIS knowledge to QGIS. Through clear, practical exercises, this book will introduce you to working with QGIS quickly and painlessly.This book takes you from installing and configuring QGIS to handling spatial data to creating great maps. You will learn how to load and visualize existing spatial data and create data from scratch. You will get to know important plugins, perform common geoprocessing and spatial analysis tasks and automate them with Processing.We will cover how to achieve great cartographic output and print maps. Finally, you will learn how to extend QGIS using Python and even create your own plugin.Style and approachA step by step approach to explain concepts of Geospatial map with the help of real life examples
Getting to Know ArcGIS by
Getting to Know ArcGIS, fourth edition, is a comprehensive introduction to the features and tools of ArcGIS for Desktop. Through hands-on exercises, readers will discover, use, make, and share maps with meaningful content. The fourth edition includes new exercises on map sharing and georeferencing, new datasets and scenarios, and an introduction to ArcGIS Pro, a powerful new part of ArcGIS for Desktop. Getting to Know ArcGIS is suited for classroom use, independent study, and as a reference. Data for completing the exercises and a 180-day trial of ArcGIS 10.3 for Desktop are available for download at esripress.esri.com/bookresources.
Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro by
In the tradition of the best-selling Getting to Know series, Getting to Know ArcGIS Pro, second edition teaches new and existing GIS users how to get started solving problems by visualizing, querying, creating, editing, analyzing, and presenting geospatial data in both 2D and 3D environments using ArcGIS Pro. This book teaches the basic functions and capabilities of ArcGIS Pro through practical project workflows and shows how to be productive with this essential component of the ArcGIS platform. The second edition has been updated for ArcGIS Pro 2.3. Note: Esri Press e-books do not include 180-day trial software. Instead, you can download the ArcGIS Trial at http://www.esri.com/arcgis/trial.
Geocomputation with R by
Geocomputation with Ris for people who want to analyze, visualize and model geographic data with open source software. It is based on R, a statistical programming language that has powerful data processing, visualization, and geospatial capabilities. The book equips you with the knowledge and skills to tackle a wide range of issues manifested in geographic data, including those with scientific, societal, and environmental implications. This book will interest people from many backgrounds, especially Geographic Information Systems (GIS) users interested in applying their domain-specific knowledge in a powerful open source language for data science, and R users interested in extending their skills to handle spatial data. The book is divided into three parts: (I) Foundations, aimed at getting you up-to-speed with geographic data in R, (II) extensions, which covers advanced techniques, and (III) applications to real-world problems. The chapters cover progressively more advanced topics, with early chapters providing strong foundations on which the later chapters build. Part I describes the nature of spatial datasets in R and methods for manipulating them. It also covers geographic data import/export and transforming coordinate reference systems. Part II represents methods that build on these foundations. It covers advanced map making (including web mapping), "bridges" to GIS, sharing reproducible code, and how to do cross-validation in the presence of spatial autocorrelation. Part III applies the knowledge gained to tackle real-world problems, including representing and modeling transport systems, finding optimal locations for stores or services, and ecological modeling. Exercises at the end of each chapter give you the skills needed to tackle a range of geospatial problems. Solutions for each chapter and supplementary materials providing extended examples are available at https://geocompr.github.io/geocompkg/articles/. Dr. Robin Lovelace is a University Academic Fellow at the University of Leeds, where he has taught R for geographic research over many years, with a focus on transport systems. Dr. Jakub Nowosadis an Assistant Professor in the Department of Geoinformation at the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, where his focus is on the analysis of large datasets to understand environmental processes. Dr. Jannes Muenchow is a Postdoctoral Researcher in the GIScience Department at the University of Jena, where he develops and teaches a range of geographic methods, with a focus on ecological modeling, statistical geocomputing, and predictive mapping. All three are active developers and work on a number of R packages, including stplanr, sabre,and RQGIS. ogressively more advanced topics, with early chapters providing strong foundations on which the later chapters build. Part I describes the nature of spatial datasets in R and methods for manipulating them. It also covers geographic data import/export and transforming coordinate reference systems. Part II represents methods that build on these foundations. It covers advanced map making (including web mapping), "bridges" to GIS, sharing reproducible code, and how to do cross-validation in the presence of spatial autocorrelation. Part III applies the knowledge gained to tackle real-world problems, including representing and modeling transport systems, finding optimal locations for stores or services, and ecological modeling. Exercises at the end of each chapter give you the skills needed to tackle a range of geospatial problems. Solutions for each chapter and supplementary materials providing extended examples are available at https://geocompr.github.io/geocompkg/articles/. Dr. Robin Lovelace is a University Academic Fellow at the University of Leeds, where he has taught R for geographic research over many years, with a focus on transport systems. Dr. Jakub Nowosadis an Assistant Professor in the Department of Geoinformation at the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, where his focus is on the analysis of large datasets to understand environmental processes. Dr. Jannes Muenchow is a Postdoctoral Researcher in the GIScience Department at the University of Jena, where he develops and teaches a range of geographic methods, with a focus on ecological modeling, statistical geocomputing, and predictive mapping. All three are active developers and work on a number of R packages, including stplanr, sabre,and RQGIS. n Lovelace is a University Academic Fellow at the University of Leeds, where he has taught R for geographic research over many years, with a focus on transport systems. Dr. Jakub Nowosadis an Assistant Professor in the Department of Geoinformation at the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, where his focus is on the analysis of large datasets to understand environmental processes. Dr. Jannes Muenchow is a Postdoctoral Researcher in the GIScience Department at the University of Jena, where he develops and teaches a range of geographic methods, with a focus on ecological modeling, statistical geocomputing, and predictive mapping. All three are active developers and work on a number of R packages, including stplanr, sabre,and RQGIS.
Designing Better Maps by
Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users, second edition, is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively. In Designing Better Maps, renowned cartographer Cynthia A. Brewer guides readers through the basics of good cartography, including layout design, scales, projections, color selection, font choices, and symbol placement. Designing Better Maps also describes the author's ColorBrewer application, an online color selection tool. The second edition includes a new chapter on map publishing.
Modeling Our World by
Modeling Our World presents a complete survey of the geodatabase information model. Updated to reflect recent changes in ArcGIS software, this book explains how to use geodatabase structural elements to promote best practices for data modeling and powerful geographic analyses; how to use rules and data properties in the geodatabase to ensure spatial and attribute integrity; how to manage your organizations work flow; how to scale geodatabases from small projects up to multiple departments across a large organization.
Python for ArcGIS by
This book introduces Python scripting for geographic information science (GIS) workflow optimization using ArcGIS. It builds essential programming skills for automating GIS analysis. Over 200 sample Python scripts and 175 classroom-tested exercises reinforce the learning objectives. Readers will learn to: * Write and run Python in the ArcGIS Python Window, the PythonWin IDE, and the PyScripter IDE * Work with Python syntax and data types * Call ArcToolbox tools, batch process GIS datasets, and manipulate map documents using the arcpy package * Read and modify proprietary and ASCII text GIS data * Parse HTML web pages and KML datasets * Create Web pages and fetch GIS data from Web sources. * Build user-interfaces with the native Python file dialog toolkit or the ArcGIS Script tools and PyToolboxes Python for ArcGIS is designed as a primary textbook for advanced-level students in GIS. Researchers, government specialists and professionals working in GIS will also find this book useful as a reference.
