Library Guides: NCBI Resources: Databases

Gene-Expression Databases

Registration

BioProject: large projects registrations
BioSample: biological samples registrations

Data Sets

Gene Expression Omnibus is a public functional genomics data repository supporting Minimum Information About a Microarray Experiment (MIAME) compliant data submissions. You can learn more about MIAME guidelines here. Array and sequence based data are accepted. Tools are provided to help users query and download experiments and curate gene expression profiles.

Learn more about data organization and query and analysis on the GEO Information Overview page.

Individual Gene Information

GEO Profiles: individual gene profiles from curated arrays
Gene: various individual gene-centered information

Variation Databases

Variation Tools
NCBI suggestions for appropriate databases to answer respective variation questions.

Biomedical Literature

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed Central preserves and maintains access to the electronic biomedical literature.

Domains & Structures

The Structure group of the NCBI Computational Biology Branch focuses on four areas:

Macromolecular structures - Structure
Conserved domains and protein classification - Conserved Domain Database (CDD)
Small molecules and their biological activity - PubChem
Biological systems - BioSystems Database