Skip to main content

Library Services & Collections for Study Abroad

Information about Library resources and services available to undergraduates in the UChicago Study Abroad programs.


Because the Library provides access to ebooks from a variety of vendors and publishers, downloading methods and policies vary. 

This page lists guidelines on downloading from the Library's major ebook collections. For more information, contact the Ask a Librarian service.

Ebooks may be read online without downloading. Downloading is necessary only for offline use.

EBSCO eBook Download Options

Within the EBSCO eBook Collection, downloading policies will vary from book to book. You may be able to:

  • Download an entire ebook to read offline in Adobe Digital Editions software for up to 14 days; or
  • Download a chapter/section or selected pages of an ebook in PDF format (with no expiration date).
    The number of pages you can save varies and is determined by the publisher.

Download Portions of EBSCO eBooks in PDF

To download a portion of an EBSCO ebook in PDF, use the Save Pages button in the EBSCO eBooks tools menu:

EBSCO Ebooks Tools Menu

Then, select from the available options, which will appear at the top of the page. You may be able to save the current page, current section, or a specified page range:

EBSCO Save Pages to PDF

You will be prevented from downloading additional pages once the download limit is reached:

EBSCO Page Limit


Check Out & Download Complete EBSCO eBooks

Many EBSCO ebooks can now be checked out for 14 days and read offline. This enables you to download complete ebooks and open them in Adobe Digital Editions software (free download).

Log in to your EBSCOhost account (create an account) and click the "Download (Offline)" button:  

EBSCO Download Offline

Not all ebooks displaying this link will be available for download. If an ebook cannot be downloaded, the following message will display:

Download unavailable message

Complete instructions for checking out EBSCO ebooks are available in the EBSCO Knowledge Base.

ProQuest Ebook Central / ebrary

The Library subscribes to two different collections of ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly called "ebrary") ebooks. All Proquest ebooks are available to read in full in your browser online. Policies on downloading to read offline vary. To download an ebook or a portion of an ebook:

  • For select titles, you may download the entire ebook in EPUB or PDF and view it for up to 14 days through Adobe Digital Editions (free software installation is required).
  • For other titles, you may download only 60 pages in PDF format.

Ebook records in ProQuest Ebook Central list downloading and checkout options available for each title. For additional help, see ProQuest Ebook Central Help or Ask a Librarian.


To download a book in the HathiTrust collection you must log in with your UChicago CNet ID:

  • Select the "login" link in the upper right.
  • Select "University of Chicago" from the drop-down list of partner institutions and click "Continue."
  • Log in using your CNet ID and password.

Once you are logged in, you may then select the "Download whole book" link when viewing full text to generate and save a PDF.

Other Ebook Platforms

Early American Imprints

You may download a maximum of 25 pages at a time. Illustrations may be downloaded separately. See details.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

To download a PDF of the page images of an EEBO book, mark the record that you want. When you display your marked record and select the download link, you may choose to download the entire document or a specific page range. See details.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online/Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature

You may download a maximum of 250 pages. The brief citation includes the number of pages in a document. Click on the download icon. You may download an entire document if it is under 250 pages or you may select a specific page range. See details.

Sabin Americana

You may download a maximum of 50 pages at a time. See details.

Safari Tech Books Online

You may download only one page at a time from Safari ebooks using the Print function. See details.

Safari Books Online permits only two users at a time. If you are unable to access an ebook, try again later or ask a librarian for assistance.


You may download a single chapter at a time.

Springer Ebooks

You may download complete ebooks as PDFs.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian's picture
Ask a Librarian
Subjects:Help Guides