Librarian Tips and Tricks
- To verify an old journal citation, try searching by author and year using cited reference searching feature in Web of Knowledge.
- Dissertation Abstracts. Capitalize on the efforts of other researchers. Your topic may have already have been covered but never published commercially. Look for citations published in dissertations since 1861. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format.
Article Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- Wellcome Bibliography for the History of MedicineOnline archives of the bibliography cover 200-2004. Coverage of other years available through the Wellcome Library Catalogue http://catalogue.wellcome.ac.uk/, which contains article/chapter references.
Selected Journals
Browse a few selected titles from the University of Chicago Library collections in social, historical and philosophical studies of scienceand medicine for a sense of themes and topics in current research and teaching in this area. For more comprehensive approach to researching the journal literature, use Article Databases
- Annals of ScienceCovers history of science, technology and medicine since classical antiquity
- British Journal for History of SciencePublishes scholarly papers and review articles on all aspects of the history of science, including the history of medicine, technology and social studies of science
- Bulletin of the History of MedicinePublishes work on the social, cultural, and scientific aspects of the history of medicine worldwide and includes reviews of recent books on medical history.
- ConfigurationsDevoted to the study of the discourse pertaining to the theories and practices of science, technology, and medicine, exploring the relations of literature and the arts to the sciences and technology.
- ISISFeatures articles, research notes and commentary on the history of science, medicine, and technology, and their cultural influences.
Perspectives on Science - Perspectives on SciencePublishes science studies that integrate historical, philosophical, and sociological perspectives
- Science in ContextDevoted to the study of the sciences from the points of view of comparative epistemology and historical sociology of scientific knowledge.
- Science, Technology and Human ValuesPublishes research, analysis, and commentary on the development and dynamics of scienceand technology, including their relationship to politics, society and culture.
- Social Studies of SciencePublishes research on science, technology and medicine.
- Technology and CulturePublishes articles and research notes relating to the history of technology by scholars from a wide range of intellectual disciplines.
Subject Specialist
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me
Find It!
When searching various Library and online sources, the 
button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders for items that the Library does not own.
Off-campus Access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. Use the ProxyIt bookmarklet or Libkey Nomad in these situations. There's more information on these in our guide to off-campus access.